Afraid · Belonging · Determination · Humanity · Motivational · My Story · Poem · Quote

I Was Afraid

I was afraid of what made me cringe

What brought me down within

I was afraid of myself so to speak

No words could explain the sadness in me

People wonder why my poems are sad

I say “because the writer is sad”

She’s lonely and battered yet no one knows

No bits of compassion from my foes

The people I cared for aren’t here

I scream and shout but they don’t care

Why you might ask because I was afraid

Afraid of what I’d become if I concave

Afraid of what they’ll say no way

I’ve heard them all, too much in one day

No surprises to me I can’t be amazed

Oh darling why am I so afraid?

The question has been asked, I will answer

I was afraid to die in a hopeless heap

I was afraid of what people would think

I was afraid to be lost in this streak

Ask me again why I’m afraid

Because you made me this way

I am a survivor of your wrong ways

I think I’ll make it in this day

But if I was asked why I am afraid now I’ll say

I’m not I can’t wait to see them feel my pain

So long I’ll say, walk out of their lives with a happy face

      ~Cassandra  

                              I gave myself permission to feel and experience all of my emotions. In order to do that, I had to stop being afraid to feel. In order to do that, I taught myself to believe that no matter what I felt or what happened when I felt it, I would be okay.

                                          ~Iyanla Vanzant

Leave a Reply

